Join the 100,000+ social media professionals using Hootsuite Academy

  • Track your progress
  • Access community discussions
  • Test yourself

Video Transcript

Larger organizations often have numerous employees sending messages through branded social accounts.  However, each additional employee who can publish on the company’s behalf adds a degree of risk - for example, that something will inadvertently be posted that’s off-brand, incorrect, or that breaches regulatory policies.  This is especially true for employees who are still new to the organization.

To help your company ensure that all outgoing social messages are well crafted and on brand, multi-tiered message approval processes can be set up for selected team members.  

ADMINS

Admins within Hootsuite Organizations can set up a Custom Message Approval by clicking the profile icon, then the ‘Social Networks’ button in the desired organization.  From here, click on ‘Profile Settings’, and then Enable Custom Approvals.  Please note that this step must be completed for each social profile which needs an approval process.  

Now, select the person, role, or team, who will review submitted messages first.  

Then add a second approver, if for example the finance or legal team needs to approve all outgoing messaging.  Second approvers will only see messages once they’ve been greenlighted by the first approver.

From this menu, Admins can also remove and manage approvers for that social network.

Next, the Admin will need go to the Social Network view, and choose which team members will have restricted posting permissions on each social network.  This is done by setting these Team Member’s permissions to Limited.  For example, if a team member requires approval for Facebook AND Twitter, permission settings need to be set to Limited twice - once for each profile.

These team members now have restricted posting privileges, which means that any social post, comment or reply they make will need sign off from a designated approver.   

APPROVERS

When a message from a team member is ready to be reviewed, Approvers will receive a notification by email provided they have subscribed to Notifications under Settings tab.

In the Publisher section, under ‘Require My Approval’, Approvers can view social posts awaiting their review.   From here, messages can be Approved -- which sends it to the second approver -- or Rejected -- which brings up the option to send the message back to its author, with a comment.  

However, if the message just needs a simple tweak, Approvers have the option to Edit the message themselves before approving it.   

A useful feature of Custom Approvals, especially for regulated industries, is ‘View approval history’ - which lets team members see a timestamped audit trail of status changes for a specific message.  

In the ‘Publisher’ section, under ‘Require My Approval’,  Approvers can also vet Comments and Replies that Team Members with Limited Permissions have made on social posts, before they go live.  Comments and Replies are clearly marked off from regular messages, and contain contextual information such as the text of the original message, and a link to the entire comment thread.  

Approvers can then approve or reject comments and replies, OR edit them within an intuitive interface.  

TEAM MEMBERS

Team members with Limited Permissions will receive a notification by email if one of their messages has been approved, rejected or deleted.

Under the Scheduled Tab, Team members can view all their approved messages.  And under the ‘Pending Approval’ tab, messages that are not yet approved can be seen, as can all the steps of the approval process.

Moving down to the Rejected tab, Team Members can see the messages Approvers have Rejected, along with any rationale or constructive suggestions provided.  Taking the feedback into account, team members can easily revise their message, and then resubmit for approval.

CONCLUSION

Eventually, you may feel confident that a team member no longer needs to have all their messages, comments, and replies vetted. In this case, you can set their social network permissions to something other than Limited, which means they can publish directly to the social networks to which they have access.