Join the 100,000+ social media professionals using Hootsuite Academy

  • Track your progress
  • Access community discussions
  • Test yourself

Video Transcript

A Hootsuite organization is the home of all social properties, networks, and contributors. Members within the organization can either have super admin, admin, or default status.

A super admin is usually responsible for the high level vision of how the company is going to use social media and creates the social structure of the organization within the Hootsuite dashboard. A super admin can manage all aspects of the organization such as adding team members and social networks, creating teams such as Marketing, Sales and Recruitment, enrolling members in Hootsuite University, and managing billing functions.  

We strongly recommend assigning super admin status to at least 2 to 3 members of your       Hootsuite organization. It’s important to remember to only grant this status to a select few employees such as senior managers of Marketing or Community. Only super admins and admins can invite new members to your organization, so be certain these individuals have the time to add new employees as they are onboarded.

When a new member is added to your organization, the super admin should be sure to add them to a team. This will grant the team member access to social networks with default permissions. If you’d like to change access permissions to a particular social network, the best way to do so is by adjusting the permissions through the social network tab, rather than through the team member’s profile. This view gives the super admin the ability to see at a glance who has access to the particular network and is an efficient way of ensuring social network security.

And lastly, it’s important that every super admin learns how to revoke user access to Hootsuite by removing members from your Hootsuite organization. To remove a member, click on your user profile and then “manage organization.” Hover over a  member's profile box, click the gear icon, and then select “Remove from organization.” Click OK to confirm.